I am outraged!!!
In Europe most companies close for the month of August and they give employees generous vacation packages and the Government will even provide grants if you want to travel overseas.
No wonder there are so many suicides in American and kids are gunning down schools... American's are stressed, unhealthy, unhappy and are not getting enough time with their families. This problem trickles down. Perhaps if parents did not need 2 jobs OR if they had more time with their families then the kids would not go ape shit and harm others. America needs to change if we are going to raise healthy children. Work, work, work is just not a way to live.
I finally got a job and did a foolish thing by signing the dotted line and agreeing to FIVE DAYS VACATION THE FIRST YEAR. WTF? I think that should be illegal. What can you do with 5 days vacation?
Moreover, my husband is demanding that we take 2 big vacations a year in addition to long weekends away. He is right, we should be able to do this with out a problem. But it is a big problem when I am not getting paid or I won't be allowed to go because I am only allotted 5 days. He is going ape shit and he is stressed and not happy. I am not happy. Work, work, work... for what? We don't even have nice things or a house. Why are we working so hard? for what?
I am rebelling.
Fuck 5 days vacation and Corporate America.
It all sucks.