Saturday, October 27, 2012

HUGGING EDDIE VEDDER

Yes, that is right, my dream came true and I hugged Eddie Vedder (of Pearl Jam - for those who don't know).  In my 20's I was a go-getter. I sought, conquered and destroyed.  If I wanted it, I got it. I wanted Pearl Jam.  I wanted to work in the music industry and it had to be Sony Music (Epic Records) because that was PJ's label and guess what, I did it. And I did it FAST.  I sought, conquered and destroyed.  I had so much ambition then and would not give up.

To make a long story short, I worked in Product Marketing for Epic Records and Pearl Jam (and a few other stellar bands) were on my roster. I decided to follow PJ on tour. Why not?  I had free backstage passes and went backstage and hung out with management whenever I wanted and saw a few shows from the stage.  My boss was 100% supportive because it made "Epic" and her look real good. I was even friendly with some of the guys from the band and pretty close with a few dudes from management. It was a dream come true. But I did a lot for that band, a super fan can be a very good thing when you work in the inside. Such as all the Sony equipment they wanted and all the CD's they wanted. I hooked them up and they hooked me up. It was a perfect relationship. In fact, they gave me a title on their Live On Two Legs DVD (Equipment Manager; Toni Neuman) and a "thank-you"since I organized all of the equipment for them; sweet baby Jesus! I even received a plaque that is hanging on my wall. It hangs proud.

PJ played 2 nights in Philadelphia and naturally I went both nights. The 2nd night was the night.
I was backstage after the show and the band and management (including Eddie) were all hanging out in the "green room" backstage. I walked in and walked out. I didn't know what to do. Liz, (management person) walked me back in and introduced me to Eddie and I have to admit, it was one hell of an introduction.  I was red as an apple because I knew ALL eyes were on me.  We said Hi and chatted about the show.... watching stage vs with the crowd, blah, blah, blah.  I thought it went well, people were smiling and asking me questions. But it was time to go. It's not the kind of scene where I could hang out and linger.

I couldn't leave with out some kind of contact. This was Eddie f*&^%ing Vedder. He was MY music guy.  I walked over and said, "I have to shake your hand." He pulled me in for a hug. Can you believe this shit? I am not making this up. It happened with a room full of witnesses.  I left beaming.

Now, if some little Jewish gal from Philly clawed her way to NYC, Sony Music, Pearl Jam into Eddie's arms, can't I find a way to get out of insurance?!?!?!




Tuesday, October 9, 2012

PLAYGROUND ZEN

There are a thousand baby books published, but is there one about politics at the playground? I think there may be a need because the politics at the playground is no laughing matter.

Toys - when you bring your toys to the playground it's open season and any child should be able to play with them..... but not take them home. Why do some Mom's like to quietly steal another child's toy? That's a no-no. My favorite episode is when another child takes YOUR child's toy and runs off with them, while your kid is like WFT? That was MY toy and why did she run off with them? Where is the Mom here? Why didn't she do anything?

Hitting - It's the parent or caregiver's job to watch your child. Especially if your child likes to hit, bite or  other toddler no-no's. It's their job to make sure the child doesn't throw sand or throw their toys and to teach them otherwise.  My friend Melissa says to me all the time, "I have no problem disciplining another child." But is that going to far? Is that okay? What are the rules here?

What about the older kids who run all over the playground and knock down the little ones? How are we supposed to handle these situations? I go back to Melissa's comment, "I have no problem disciplining another child."

How about when your child befriends another child and the parents are confronted with a budding new friendship and one is into it and the other is not. And if you child misbehaves, how do you handle? Or you are developing a new friendship with another parent and the child misbehaves. How do you handle?

The other day a man's 4 year old HIT a younger girl.  I couldn't believe it. The dad of the hitter didn't really discipline his boy. The girl's father talked to his daughter and made her feel better, but didn't say anything to the dad. What would you do? I would take further action and at least apologise to the little girl and father. What are the rules here?

Playgrounds can be a pretty rough environment and strange things do happen. There are too many child books in the marketplace, but I think there is a market for the Playground Zen book (for comic relief, of course).  I think we could all use a little help at the playground.